Boldly Facing Any New Challenge

Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defiled.1 Samuel 17:45

I remember back in highschool when I played basketball for the varsity team of our school, there’s this one tune-up game we had against a team of highschool students from Quezon City, Philippines. They had one team member who played as a Center and whose height was 6 foot 5 inches and I was just 5 foot 6 inches (I still am). I lost my game only by looking at that guy guarding the basketball ring. I didn’t play as I should do.

It reminds me of the movie Facing The Giants which tells a lot about facing our fears and failures in life. I know the feeling of having troubles in life. We worry, we sometimes stumble, and we get out of focus. That fear just prevents us from doing our best and being the best that we can be. It drains our energy and it drags us down taking away all our hope with it.

David facing Goliath, is another great example of someone who has faith in God to face troubles in life and has the confidence from God to win the fight. It seemed impossible for David to defeat Goliath, a giant who was military trained in killing other military trained people. David was just a shepherd who killed wild animals, and his weapon was just his sling and stones. But in the end, he was able to kill Goliath with one shot.

In life, there are and there will be troubles that seem impossible. “With man, this is impossible but with God, all things are possible” (Matthew 19:26) and He will provide us strength and courage to face these troubles and be victorious over them. We just need to believe and have faith in God that He is more than willing to help us on our troubles.

Reference: The Power Of Being Thankful

Leave a Reply

