Attitude Of Gratitude

Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.Philippians 2:14-17

Everyday, it’s so easy to grumble about a lot of things. But complaining doesn’t do any good, doesn’t solve the problem and only opens doors for the enemy to strike. Greater problems will eventually occur.

There were many times in my life in the past, because of immaturity, I was in defense mode everytime I get stepped on. I would easily complain and even fight back while having the thought, “I’m not doing anything wrong, I’m just defending myself from abusive and arrogant people,” and thinking that it would solve the problems.

But what I was losing was the effectiveness of my testimony as a Christian. Our light that’s supposed to shine dims down. Now I realize how it is difficult to listen, believe, and be blessed by a person claiming he’s a Christian but would easily grumble in times of distress. I saw myself with those people and realized how regretful it is to lose an opportunity to reach out and bless people.

The cure for grumbling and complaining is having the attitude of gratitude. If everyday we have something to complain about, then it means having the attitude of gratitude should be our therapy and later on be our lifestyle. It also translates to looking at the times of persecution as opportunities to share Jesus to them not just by words, but also by our response and most importantly, by our lives.

Reference: The Power Of Being Thankful

Leave a Reply

