Living At Peace

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.John 14:27

Stress and anxiety are some of my weaknesses. I worry too much on things I could not control and the peace in my heart gets easily robbed from me. I also tend to worry about the things that already happened in the past and think of what possible consequences that it could produce in the future.

I worried that I took the wrong college course in the past and I worried if I could land a good job in the future. I also worried for very simple things like in heavy traffic situations when I go to work. Worrying ruined my day a lot of times. It’s just not helpful at all and it doesn’t change the situation. The only thing that worsens are not the situations but only myself.

The only cure I found and actually was there all along that I just tend to ignore, maybe because I was so skeptic that it would actually do something about my stress. It’s prayer with thanksgiving. Well, yes, I usually pray but I would do it in a way where I ask God to change the situation, but I forgot to pray and ask Him to change my heart. I also forgot to thank Him despite the circumstances.

There’s another verse in the bible that I put to heart after realizing I shouldn’t be anxious on things that are beyond my control. It’s from Philippians 4:6-7 that says, Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

I also remind myself that if it’s beyond my control, it’s in God’s control.

Reference: The Power Of Being Thankful

 

Leave a Reply

