Serious Stress

To the choirmaster: stringed instruments. A Maskil of David.
Give ear to my prayer, O, God, and hide not your self from my plea for mercy! Attend to me, and answer me; I am restless in my complaint and I moan, because of the noise of the enemy, because of the oppression of the wicked. For they drop trouble upon me, and in anger they bear a grudge against me. My heart is in anguish within me; the terrors of death have fallen upon me. Fear and trembling come upon me, and horror overwhelms me. And I say, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest; yes, I would wander far away; I would lodge in the wilderness;Psalms 55:1-7

We’ve been into some serious stress a couple of times already and it feels like we just want to drop all our responsibilities and go some place else away from all the worries. We people know many kinds of stress relievers. These are drinking, cheating for fun, bullying, blaming others and God, and all sorts of stuff. But you see, these are just temporary relievers.

The best way to alleviate the stress is to surrender all of it to God. Come to Him and pour it all out. Why God? Because if you pour it out on people, you can inflict damage. But if you pour it all out to God, He won’t be damaged. If you are angry, if you are  down and lonely and troubled, God can handle all of it.

It’s like how King David would always pray, he’d be brutally honest and would pour it all out to God even if his heart is in anguish. Let us do the same and not sort out to things that would give us temporary relief. God helps us look at our troubles differently. He gives us strength. His comfort lasts.

To the choirmaster: stringed instruments. A Maskil of David.
Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.Psalms 55:22

Reference: Our Daily Bread 15-Day Edition

 

Leave a Reply

