Lost Prayers

Incline your ear, O Lord, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Preserve my life, for I am godly; save your servant, who trusts in you — you are my God. Be gracious to me, O Lord, for to you do I cry all the day. Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you. Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer; listen to my plea for grace. In the day of my trouble I call upon you, for you to answer me.Psalm 86:1-7

In desperate times, we pray. In times we want something to happen, we pray. In times we need guidance and wisdom in making decisions, we pray. But there’s more to it than that. We can also pray when we’re happy and successful.

I came to watch an inspiring movie called Letters To God a few years back. It’s about a courageous boy who has cancer, writes letters to God as if He was his friend, teacher, and his ultimate pen pal. The boy sends his letters through a postman who doesn’t know what to do with the letters. But then God moved this man in his search for meaning in life.

The boy’s letters also signifies his heart in prayer. Physically, those letters are never sent to God. The postman can throw it all away even without opening them. But prayers are never lost. They are all heard by our Father in heaven.

God hears us when we have funny stories to tell. He pays attention when we have questions to ask, and He answers.  And He’s always there to listen and embrace us when we need comforting, because he is good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon Him.

Reference: Our Daily Bread 15-Day Edition

 

Leave a Reply

