We Bow Down

Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation! Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise! For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods. In his hand are the depths of the earth; the heights of the mountains are his also. The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land. Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the Lord, our Maker! For he is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand. Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts, as at Meribah, as on the day at Massah in the wilderness, when your fathers put me to the test and put me to the proof, though they had seen my work. For forty years I loathed that generation and said, “They are a people who go astray in their heart, and they have not known my ways.” Therefore I swore in my wrath, they shall not enter my rest.”Psalm 95:1-11

When  was the last time you kneeled before the Lord? I remember the time when I was in desperate need of something I know I couldn’t get myself. I bowed down on my knees in prayer every night before I went to sleep. I decided to do that gesture to show my humility to the Lord. Somehow, it helped me forget all the pride I had in my heart.

Bowing down is a sign of honor, allegiance, respect, worship, and reverence to the Lord. But it’s more than just a gesture. It’s the condition of your heart before Him. The Lord seeks true worshippers. Those who would worship Him in spirit and in truth and that is more than just what we do in life.

In everything we do, we offer it to the Lord. We acknowledge His presence and His ways in our lives. And let us always remember who our God is — He is more than worthy of our honor, allegiance, respect, worship, and reverence. He is our Lord to whom we bow down and to whom we offer our whole lives.

Reference: Our Daily Bread 15-Day Edition

Leave a Reply

